POSTED 12:31pm April 15, 2019

Media release: Teenage Olympians to represent Australia at the Asian Physics Olympiad

Australia gears up to host Asia’s toughest physics competition for the first time
Team announcement at Australian Academy of Science, Canberra, 15 April 2019

(Pictured L-R: Simon Yung, Alexander Lin, William Sutherland, Rosemary Zielinski, ASI Patron Professor Ian Chubb AC, Jessie Lum, Min-Je Hwang, Benjamin Davison-Petch, Stephen Catsamas)

Eight of Australia’s top performing student physicists have made the team to represent Australia at the Asian Physics Olympiad to be held at the Adelaide Convention Centre from 5 to 13 May. They will compete against more than 200 of Asia’s smartest kids representing 27 other countries and regions.

The Australian Year 11 and 12 students are from Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Canberra and Sutton, NSW. They will compete in theoretical and experimental exams that draw on first-year university physics, and will try to win gold for Australia.

The students have spent a year in exams and intensive training to make the cut. They outperformed more than 1,700 other students who sat the qualifying exam, making a shortlist of 24 to attend a two-week physics summer school at the Australian National University in preparation for the Olympiad.

“For me to represent Australia at the Asian Physics Olympiad is a dream come true. I am here because of my brilliant science teachers who encouraged me to have a go,” says team member Rosemary Zielinski from Merici College in Canberra.

The Asian Physics Olympiad is Asia’s toughest physics competition for high school students.

“In selecting students for the team we look for analytical thinking, proficiency with equipment, and determination to use maths and physics to solve tricky problems in both theory and experiment,” says Siobhan Tobin, Physics Program Director, Australian Science Olympiads.

Australia’s Asian Physics Olympians will receive their Australian team blazers at an official team announcement ceremony at the Shine Dome, Australian Academy of Science, Canberra, on Monday 15 April.

“Hosting this competition in Australia for the first time provides an important opportunity to champion our young science talent, as well as shine a spotlight on Australian science education and Australian physics,” says Ruth Carr, Executive Director of Australian Science Innovations.

The 20th Asian Physics Olympiad is brought to Australia by Australian Science Innovations and is funded by the Federal Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

The Australian team members for the 20th Asian Physics Olympiad are listed below:

Asian Physics Olympiad
5-13 May 2019, Adelaide, Australia
Stephen CatsamasYear 12Marcellin CollegeVIC
Benjamin Davison-PetchYear 12Christ Church GrammarWA
Min-Je HwangYear 12James Ruse Agricultural CollegeNSW
Alexander LinYear 11The King’s SchoolNSW
Jessie LumYear 12Pymble Ladies’ CollegeNSW
William SutherlandYear 12Scotch CollegeVIC
Simon YungYear 12Narrabundah CollegeACT
Rosemary ZielinskiYear 12Merici CollegeACT


Click here for more pictures from the Team Announcement Ceremony.

Australian Science Innovations
Department of Industry, Innovation and Science The University of Adelaide Flinders University University of South Australia

Sign up to our Newsletter

* indicates required